Irrelevant ads are irrelevant.


I was testing my backup script today and noticed that if you browse this blog while not logged in to WordPress, every post is accompanied by hideous and irrelevant advertisements. These are automatically added by WordPress. I have nothing to do with them and find them to be incredibly obnoxious.

Now I can’t complain too much about this, since after all is providing this platform to broadcast my garbled rantings for free. I do think these particular ads are tacky and detract from the usefulness of the site, though. If I were going to put ads up here on purpose (which I have no intention of doing for the foreseeable future) they would be unobtrusive and only for relevant things I actually use and enjoy myself- like good books and tools, for instance. Certainly not this PopPressed crap.

There are a couple of ways to remove these, most of which are inaccessible because they cost money. At the moment it appears that the easiest (and cheapest) way to view this site without the tacky ads is to get a WordPress account (which is free) and log in.

Sorry for the inconvenience.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.


  • Alex Youcis  On April 25, 2011 at 2:03 am

    I agree that this is a horrible feature and the upgrade to noads is quite steep. Moreover, I agree that if they ‘have’ to plague our blogs with ads that it should be something better than Paris Hilton propaganda….I mean most sites at least do a read out of the words in your page and make ads accordingly.

  • yfyf  On May 16, 2011 at 6:08 pm

    AdBlock makes you forget ads exist at all.

Leave a Reply

